TRIJUICE Content Partners

Frodeno, Jackson Run Their Way to IRONMAN 70.3 California Wins

ironman 70.3 oceanside frodeno

Taking advantage of beautiful California conditions, Jan Frodeno (GER) and Heather Jackson (USA) used blistering run splits to capture wins at today's Accenture IRONMAN 70.3 California triathlon, crossing the finish line in 3:47:08 and 4:14:47, respectively. Frodeno, Germany's 2008 gold medalist, earned his second consecutive win in Oceanside while Heather Jackson earned her second win in three years.

Men's Race
Five-time IRONMAN 70.3 California champion Andy Potts (USA) led a strong men's field out of the water with his 22:44 swim time. Following closely was last year's winner in Oceanside, Jan Frodeno (GER), while the rest of the contenders were looking at one to two and half minute deficits as they ran into transition.

Once on the bike, a large pack consisting of Maik Twelsiek (GER), Ronnie Schildknecht (CHE), Brent McMahon (CAN), Jesse Thomas (USA) and Lionel Sanders (CAN) joined Potts and Frodeno at the front of the race. After the lead was exchanged a number times in the closing half of the bike, it was Sanders who dismounted his bike first, towing in Twelsiek, Frodeno, McMahon, Potts and Thomas, all within 16 seconds.

The race continued to be tight early on the run as Sanders and Frodeno ran shoulder to shoulder, with McMahon, Potts and Thomas just 13 to 20 seconds off the pace. Frodeno edged away from Sanders after three miles and held a tentative 36-second lead at the six mile marker. The second half of the run was a different story as Frodeno pulled away from the pack and Potts mounted a hard push from behind to pass Sanders. On the strength of the race-best run of 1:10:48, Frodeno captured the 2015 Accenture IRONMAN 70.3 California title in 3:47:08. Potts' hard work on the run was rewarded with a second-place finish (3:48:43), while Sanders (3:49:19) hung on to grab the final podium spot.

2015 IRONMAN 70.3 California Results:
Oceanside, California - March 28, 2015

Pro Men Results Time
Pro Women Results Time
Jan Frodeno 3:47:08
Heather Jackson 4:14:47
Andy Potts 3:48:43
Heather Wurtele 4:16:07
Lionel Sanders 3:49:19
Holly Lawrence 4:16:59
Brent McMahon 3:51:07
Alicia Kaye 4:20:01
Jesse Thomas 3:52:52
Angela Naeth 4:21:33

ironman 70.3 oceanside jackson

Women's Race
Exiting the water first for the women was Jen Spieldenner (USA) followed closely by a group that included Holly Lawrence (GBR) and Alicia Kaye (USA). Race favorites Magali Tisseyre (CAN), Heather Wurtele (CAN) and Michelle Vesterby (DNK) were over a minute down, while Heather Jackson (USA), Rachel McBride (CAN) and Angela Naeth (CAN) found themselves over two minutes off the pace.

Lawrence put her head down on the bike and powered away from the women's field to take an early lead that carried all the way to the completion of the 56-mile bike. Naeth and Jackson rode in second and third as Wurtele forged her way into fourth.

On the run, Lawrence's lead held steady in the opening miles, but by three miles it was evident that she her pace was dropping. With seven miles left in the run Jackson and Wurtele reduced Lawrence's lead to 50 and 90 seconds respectfully. Both stormed past the leader over the second half of the run, with Jackson maintaining a minute lead on Wurtele as Lawrence slipped to third. Jackson's gutsy run garnered the American her second Accenture IRONMAN 70.3 California title with a winning time of 4:14:47. Wurtele was next across the line in 4:16:07, while Lawrence rounded out the podium with her 4:16:59 finish time.

Link: Ironman 70.3 California Athlete Tracker

Photo credits: Nils Nilsen / IRONMAN