TRIJUICE Content Partners

Kaye & Collins Win 2014 Life Time Tri Minneapolis

alicia kayeMore than 2,000 pro, elite amateur and first-time triathletes descended upon Lake Nokomis, just south of downtown Minneapolis, for the 2014 Life Time Tri Minneapolis triathlon event. This year marked the 12th Anniversary of the event and served as the first race in the Toyota Triple Crown Triathlon Series.

Ben Collins won the male professional division at 1:50:09 while Alicia Kaye won the female professional division at 1:59:51. The handicap time for the race equalizer race was 10 minutes and 1 second, which gave Alicia Kaye just enough of a lead to cross the finish line first, just 19 seconds ahead of Ben Collins.

Sara McLarty led the pro women out of the water with her 18:52 swim, with Lauren Brandon right on her tail followed by Alicia Kaye and Radka Vodickova. It was Kaye who took the lead early into the bike and never looked back. Vodickova had the faster run split but entered T2 almost 5 minutes behind Kaye and couldn't make up the gap and finished in 2nd place. Jillian Petersen rounded out the podium with her 3rd place finish. Sarah Haskins was around the transition area before the start of the race but decided not to race.

Cameron Dye was first out of the water on the pro men's side with Hunter Kemper, Ben Collins and Greg Bennett all right there with him. Dye managed to only cut the gap on Kaye by less than 2 minutes on the swim and still had over 8 minutes to make up on the bike course. Late into the bike race, Dye had managed to make up about 5 minutes on Kaye as the lead she had was down to 3 minutes. He led the men into T2 and the chase was on to catch Kaye. Collins made up some time on Dye on the first loop of the run and was only about 12-15 seconds behind Dye who won the race last year. In the last miles of the run Collins passed Dye and was catching Kaye while Kemper was on Dye's tail. In the end Collins ran out of real estate to pass Kaye before the finish line but took the men's win. Kemper had the fastest run split of the day (31:12) but he fell just short of catching Dye who came into almost 3 minutes ahead of him. Dye takes 2nd place by 10 seconds while Kemper took 3rd.

2014 Life Time Tri - Minneapolis Results:
Minneapolis, Minnesota - July 12, 2014

Pro Men Results Time
Pro Women Results Time
Ben Collins 1:50:09
Alicia Kaye 1:59:51
Cameron Dye 1:51:10
Radka Vodickova 2:04:07
Hunter Kemper 1:51:20
Jillian Petersen 2:08:17
Chris Foster 1:52:48
Sara McLarty 2:09:39
Greg Bennett 1:53:37
Lauren Brandon 2:10:48

ben collins

Professional triathletes battled for the event's $30,000 purse, with Alicia Kaye and Ben Collins taking home $7,000 each and 100 points in the Toyota Triple Crown series. The 2014 Life Time Tri Pro Series cash purse offers $450,000, including $250,000 in individual race awards and an additional $200,000 awarded to Life Time Tri Pro Series champions crowned at the series finale - Life Time Tri Oceanside. With the addition of the Toyota Triple Crown, the overall 2014 Life Time Tri cash purse is $500,000.

Check out the TRIJUICE 2014 Life Time Tri Minneapolis photo gallery here.