TRIJUICE Content Partners

City of Madison Ready to Host Annual Ironman Wisconsin


On Sunday, over 2,500 athletes will compete in the 11th Annual, 2012 Ironman Wisconsin triathlon presented by Trek. Taking place in Madison, the race features over 45,000 spectators lining the course through Wisconsin farm land and downtown streets of Madison. The finish line is the most recognizable of all the US Ironman events; it is located in front of the Wisconsin state capitol in the heart of Madison. The action kicks off at 7:00 AM from Monona Terrace.

Ironman Wisconsin features a challenging course that is the kick-off to the 2013 Ironman World Championship qualifying season. New this year is the one-loop, wetsuit legal swim (as of today) which takes place in Lake Monona, followed by a 112-mile bike that tests athletes with a number of hills as they pass beautiful vistas of rural Wisconsin. The 26.2-mile run offers two loops and spectator support that is unparalleled as athletes run through downtown Madison, passing the University of Wisconsin campus, Camp Randal Stadium, State Street and the scenic path alongside Lake Mendota.

Some of the top names racing this year are event are 2008 Ironman Wisconsin Women's champion, Hillary Biscay, 2nd place 2012 Ironman Brazil finisher Kim Loeffler, this year's 2012 Ironman St. George overall winner, Ben Hoffman and Justin Daerr who took 2nd place at the 2012 Ironman Texas. Not to be counted out is Thomas Gerlach who just took 3rd at the 2012 Ironman Louisville race and 3rd at the 2012 Ironman St. George race as well as home town professional Blake Becker. This years race has a professional prize purse of $25,000, the race also awards a total of 50 slots for the 2013 Ironman World Championship, taking place on October 12 in Kailua-Kona, Hawaii.

Men's Professional Field Women's Professional Field
Blake Becker Kate Bevilaqua
Dominik Berger Hillary Biscay
Greg Close Kathleen Calkins
Justin Daerr Whitney Garcia
Billy Edwards Andrea Hutchins
Thomas Gerlach Kim Loeffler
Ben Hoffman Elizabeth Lyles
Peter Kotland Katya Meyers
Brandon Marsh Danielle Sullivan
Ian Mikelson Beth Walsh
Jared Milam Charisa Wernick
Toby Radcliffe Suzanne Zelazo
Markus Ressler  
Zach Ruble  
Eduardo Sturla  
Kevin Taddonio  
Jesse Vondracek  
Nick Waninger  

(we'll get the final and updated list of pros racing later today and update accordingly)

Tune-in to IRONMANLive on Sunday, Sept. 9, beginning at 7 a.m. CT (8 a.m. ET), for live race coverage of IRONMAN Wisconsin. Coverage will include live footage from an on-course camera from race start all the way to the midnight cut-off. The live webcast can be seen by going to www.ironman.com.