TRIJUICE Content Partners

Tollakson, Wurtele Win 2011 Ironman Lake Placid

ironman lake placid TollaksonTJ Tollakson out-duels the men while favorite Heather Wurtele tops the women in New York; giving the pair the victories at the 2011 Ironman Lake Placid triathlon event. They along with nearly 2,600 athletes set out to conquer one of the oldest Ironman races in North America. The first place finish helps both Tollakson and Wurtele accumulate valuable last minute Kona Pro Ranking points for a chance to gain a starting spot for the 2011 Ironman World Championship race in Hawaii.

American Tollakson from Des Moines, Iowa defeats returning 2010 champion Ben Hoffman for the win. Tollakson was towards the front on the men's swim exit. He grabbed the early lead on the bike and let the others duel for positions heading into T2. His 4:33:33 ride gave him a slight edge heading out of T2 for the marathon. Then out on the run course is where he took command of the men's race, extending his lead on Hoffman and the rest for of the field, giving him the 2011 Ironman Lake Placid men's title. Defending champion Hoffman was second (8:33:29) while Australian Jason Shortis ran a race best 2:50:25 marathon to get third (8:47:18).

2011 Ironman Lake Placid Results:
Lake Placid, New York

Pro Men Results Time
Pro Women Results Time
Tj Tollakson 8:25:15
Heather Wurtele 9:19:03
Ben Hoffman 8:33:29
Tine Deckers 9:34:41
Jason Shortis 8:47:18
Tyler Stewart 9:38:09
Eduardo Sturla 9:04:16
Jackie Arendt 9:56:21
Daniel Bretscher 9:07:05
Jacqui Gordon 10:07:22
Ian Mikelson 9:12:42
Suzanne Zelazo 10:21:08
Mike Neill 9:13:03
Amber Ferreira 10:30:39
Tim Snow 9:16:01
Miranda Alldritt 10:46:46
Matthew Russell 9:26:26
Marie Danais 10:48:26
John Hirsch 9:45:50

ironman lake placid WurtelePre-race favorite Wurtele, who was part of the big Canadian contingency racing in Lake Placid, wins her second Ironman title of 2011. She won Ironman St. George back in May. She led the women's field out of the swim and gained a solid lead on the bike course, ahead of Belgium's Tine Deckers, heading into the run. She posted the fastest bike split of the day with her 5:08:13, and then ran the top marathon split (3:08:23) to win the 2011 Ironman Lake Placid women's title. She also sets a new course record time of 9:19:03. Deckers finished second (9:34:41) while American Tyler Stewart picked up third (9:38:09).

Notable DNF's for the day include Luke Bell who made it out on to the bike course but called it a day some 50 miles into the ride.

Top age groupers of the day were David Lamoureux of Lakeville, MA, and our friend Kim Schwabenbauer of Allison Park, PA and from Fuel Your Passion. Lamoureux, 31, swam 59:20, biked 5:17:12, and ran 3:12:54 to cross the line in 9:36:11, he was 10th overall male. Schwabenbauer, 32, swam 1:07:52, biked 5:39:09, and ran 3:17:24 to finish in 10:11:54, she was the sixth overall female.

A follow up on a story we did the other day on the Timex staffers doing Ironman Lake Placid. Brett Jacobson, Account Executive, Sports, finished in 11:06:58 while Keith Meyer, Manager of Event Marketing and Sponsorships finished in 12:44:58. In their second Ironman event Dave Schultz, Vice President of Sales finished in 11:20:56, and Jason Tillinghast, Product Manager for Advanced Products, stopped the clock at 11:46:16. It appears that Heberto Calves, Vice President of Marketing, can now add Ironman finisher to his list of accomplishments He finishes the day in 13:51:09.

Additional Coverage:
- 2011 Ironman Lake Placid Race Coverage and Athlete Tracker [via Ironman.com]

Don't forget to check out our 2011 Ironman Triathlon Results Grid along with our Ironman Podium Scoreboard at www.trijuice.com/2011imrg
Related Posts:
 - Al-Sultan, Steffen Champions at Ironman European Championship
 - Schildknecht, Thürig Victorious at Ironman Switzerland Again
 - Record Day for Alexander & Dibens at Ironman Coeur d'Alene
 - Jacobs, Steffen Secure 1st Ironman Titles in Australia
 - Brown Wins 10th Ironman New Zealand, Warriner Wins Her 1st Title