TRIJUICE Content Partners

German's Raelert & Wallenhorst Win in Frankfurt

imgermany2010.jpgAn impressive day for Germans Andreas Raelert who wins and Sandra Wallenhorst who defends at the 2010 Ironman European Championship race in Frankfurt, Germany. Hot and humid conditions greeted the more that 2,700 athletes for the ninth Ironman European Championship race in Frankfurt.

Raelert wins his second Ironman title today with a very amazing effort. He was only 3 seconds away from leading front start to finish today as Christian Ritter beat him out of the swim, but that didn't matter. Once Raelert got on to the bike course he took off and pretty much never looked back. He crushed the bike course, continually extending his lead as the day progressed over the chase pack. He finishes the bike course with almost an 11 minute lead and a new bike course record of 4:20:35 on a course that's 4km longer.

Out on the run Raelert continued to fly as defending champ Timo Bracht cut into his lead, but in the end the lead was just too much for Bracht to overcome as Raelert wins and Bracht takes second. Raelert later said "it was the perfect day for me".

Sandra Wallenhorst defends her Ironman Germany title and repeats as the Ironman European Women's Champion. It wasn't easy for Wallenhorst as Caroline Steffen took control out on the bike course and set a fast pace. Wallenhorst remained in contention all day, even though she was always seven minutes down to Steffen who was racing her second Ironman event after winning several Ironman 70.3 races this year (Switzerland, Geelong and Singapore).

Experience on the course was probably Wallenhorst's advantage today, not trying to chase down Steffen. On the run Steffen looked strong but Wallenhorst continually cut the lead down eventually passing Steffen around the 36km while running a 3:00:15 marathon today and successfully defending her title. Steffen held on to stay ahead of Yvonne van Vlerken who finished third.

2010 Ironman European Championship Results:

Pro Men Results Time
Pro Women Results Time
Andreas Raelert 8:05:15
Sandra Wallenhorst 9:04:27
Timo Bracht 8:10:22
Caroline Steffen 9:06:42
Chris McCormack 8:14:43
Yvonne van Vlerken 9:10:21
Cameron Brown 8:18:33
Diana Riesler 9:27:37
Jan Raphael 8:19:27
Katja Konschak 9:31:57
Uwe Widmann 8:31:28
Joanna Lawn 9:36:12
Christian Ritter 8:33:06
Susan Dietrich 9:39:12
Frank Vytrisal 8:35:39
Meike Krebs 9:42:28
Patrick Vernay 8:37:36
Nicole Leder 9:51:10
Mika Luoto 8:38:21

Additional Race Coverage:
- 2010 Ironman Germany Coverage and Athlete Tracker [via Ironman.com]
Related Posts:
 • Potts & Corbin Capture First Ironman Titles in Coeur d'Alene
 • Zamora & Deckers Defend Ironman France Titles
 • Weiss & Wurtele Win Inaugural Ironman St. George
 • Tissink, Tajsich Dominate Ironman South Africa
 • Vernay Wins 4th & Lester 1st Ironman Australia Titles