TRIJUICE Content Partners

2010 Life Time Fitness Triathlon Post Race Coverage

IMG_5624_mod.jpgIf was a perfect day for racing in Minneapolis at the 2010 Life Time Fitness Triathlon. Defending champions Matt Reed and Sarah Haskins both conquered the elements and the field to repeat as champions and win a nice $20,000 paycheck. With the win they also both get 10,000 points toward their pursuit of the coveted 2010 Life Time Fitness Triathlon Series Race to the Toyota Cup.

It was 73 degrees at Lake Nokomis at 5:30 in the morning with mostly clear skies. It's been a hot summer so far here in Minneapolis, which in turn has warmed up the lake water temperatures. The water temp was at race time was 81 degrees , which meant a non-wetsuit swim for both the pros and the nearly 2,500 amateurs racing along side of the pros in both Olympic and Sprint distance races.

Cameron Dye led the men out of the swim, closely followed by local pro Nicholas Vandam, Matt Chrabot and Matt Reed. Out on the bike, Dye held the his lead half way through the bike course and all the way into T2 with Chrabot, Reed and Craig Alexander right on his tail. Andrew Yoder was up towards the front, but experienced a crash out on the course; he made it to T2, but was brought back into the transition area shortly after starting the run. Reed took the lead in the early stages of the run and was tailed closely by Chrabot, while Alexander move past Dye as to move into third place half way through the run. Last year it was a full out sprint to the finish line for Reed, who barely edged out Potts for the victory, but this time he had just a few extra stride in his lead and manage to gracefully walk across the finish line to defend and win the 2010 Life Time Fitness Triathlon title. Chrabot was right behind him for second place while reigning Ironman World Champ Alexander came in a minute later for third place.

2010 Life Time Fitness Triathlon Results:

Pro Men Results Time
Pro Women Results Time
Matt Reed 1:48:34
Sarah Haskins 2:00:50
Matt Chrabot 1:48:42
Rebeccah Wassner 2:02:42
Craig Alexander 1:49:45
Mary Beth Ellis 2:04:37
Filip Ospaly 1:50:49
Sara McLarty 2:08:18
Clark Ellice 1:51:23
Pip Taylor 2:08:49
Cameron Dye 1:51:28
Jenny Fletcher 2:11:22
David Thompson 1:51:29
Emily Shoopman 2:18:43
Greg Bennett 1:52:07
Andrew Starykowicz 1:53:30
John Kenny 1:56:39

The small women's pro field was lead by out of the water by swimmer Sara McLarty with a sizeable lead. The chase pack out of Sarah Haskins, Rebeccah Wassner and Mary Beth Ellis came out of the water almost a minute later. McLarty was still in the lead half way out on the bike course and then coming into T2, but this time her lead was down to seconds as Haskins was right on her tail. Once out on the run, Haskin's took control of the women's field with her fast run and wins the 2010 Life Time Fitness Triathlon title for the second year in a row. Rebeccah Wassner and Mary Beth Ellis held on for 2nd and 3rd, while McLarty had enough of a lead to stay ahead of Pip Taylor and finish 4th, Taylor finishes in 5th.

Matt Reed takes over first place in the points standing in the 2010 Race To the Toyota Cup while Sarah Haskins moves into third with Mary Bet Ellis leading the standings. Sarah will be racing the other events in the series except for the race in New York. David Thompson's 7th place finish moves him up ahead of Bevan Docherty in the standings, but still in second place. See the standing here: www.racetothetoyotacup.com/pro-standings

One of the other stories of the day was Mr. Spinervals, Troy Jacobson out racing for the first time in nearly 10 years in the Elite Masters Division. He ends up winning the Elite Master Men division. He closely works with Life Time Fitness, but this race was a warm up event as he's working on racing next weekend at the Ironman 70.3 Racine race in Wisconsin. Sarah Mercer won the Women's Elite Masters Division.

2010 TRIJUICE Life Time Fitness Triathlon picture gallery

2010 Life Time Fitness Triathlon Pictures

Last year Devon Palmer of Minnesota won the Elite Amateur Men's division at the Life Time Fitness Triathlon, but this year he turned pro and raced the event as a pro, finishing the day in 11th. This year Patrick Davis of Iowa wins the Elite Amateur Men's division. Just as impressive as some of the pro's winning the same race five consecutive years in a row is Cathy Yndestad fifth consecutive victory in the Women's Elite Amateur division. She's also a native of Minnesota. Gear West Bike and Triathlon wins the Corporate Charity Challenge Relay event.