TRIJUICE Content Partners

Zamora & Deckers Defend Ironman France Titles

marcelzamora.jpgIt was a record setting day in Nice, France as Marcel Zamora Perez and Tine Deckers successfully defend their Ironman France and doing so in new course records. Besides that, Marcel successfully won his 5th straight consecutive Ironman France title.

Marcel joins an elite group of people who have won five straight consecutive Ironman titles at a race. The list includes Mark Allen (Ironman World Championship), Cameron Brown (Ironman New Zealand) and Chris McCormack (Ironman Australia), Joanna Lawn (Ironman New Zealand) and Lisa Bentley (Ironman Australia).

Zamora and Deckers stayed in contention on the bike course, gaining ground on the climbs and eventually both taking the leads three-fourths of the way into the 180km bike course. Frederik Van Lierde wasn't going to make it easy for Zamora stayed tough with him in the during the late stages of the bike but couldn't hang on against Zamora's 2:42 marathon split. Zamora win Ironman France in a time of 8:25:28, nearly 5 minutes faster that his previous course record.

Deckers pulled ahead on the bike, giving her a comfortable lead but endured a crash in the very last stages but still maintained a sizeable lead. At T2 the Belgian was still on pace to break the course record, which she set last year and did so with a nice run. Deckers wins her second consecutive Ironman France title in a time of 9:21:29, shaving and impressive 9 minutes off of last year's mark of 9:30:29. She manages to finish 9th overall and almost 15 minutes ahead of second place finisher Erika Csomor.

2010 Ironman France Results:

Pro Men Results Time
Pro Women Results Time
Marcel Zamora Perez * 8:25:28
Tine Deckers * 9:21:29
Frederik Van Lierde 8:30:39
Erika Csomor 9:36:08
Olivier Marceau 8:52:25
Alexandra Louison 9:38:25
Bruno Clerbout 8:53:15
Britta Martin 9:40:53
Romain Guillaume 8:58:56
Johanna Daumas 9:56:34
* Jose Jeuland 9:05:46
Katya Meyers 10:02:12
Xavier Diepart 9:06:54
Merja Kiviranta 10:05:19
Michael Wetzel 9:12:28
Joanna Carritt 10:07:44
Damien Landon 9:13:56
Emma Roca 10:23:43
Cedric Jacquot 9:14:21
Anne Basso 10:29:18
* = Course Record

Additional race coverage and athlete tracking:
- 2010 Ironman France Coverage and Athlete Tracker [via Ironman.com]
Related Posts:
 • Weiss & Wurtele Win Inaugural Ironman St. George
 • Tissink, Tajsich Dominate Ironman South Africa
 • Vernay Wins 4th & Lester 1st Ironman Australia Titles
 • Brown & Lawn Rule Ironman New Zealand Again!
 • Ironman Malaysia, Granger Three-peats, Vanhoenacker Wins