TRIJUICE Content Partners

Brown & Lawn Rule Ironman New Zealand Again!

cameron brownIt was an amazing Ironman day in Taupo as the King & Queen of Ironman New Zealand do it AGAIN! Historic day as Cameron Brown wins his 9th Ironman New Zealand title. No one has ever won 9 titles at the same Ironman event (2009, 2008, 2007, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001). It was just as eventful on the women's side as Joanna Lawn wins her 7th Ironman New Zealand title and sets a new course record. An amazing feat in itself but just short of historic (2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003) since Paula Newby-Fraser is an 8-time Ironman World Champion.

K-Swiss team member Terenzo Bozzone who was in the lead during the bike and took an early lead on the run finishes in second place for the second year in a row.

Lawn comes back strong after losing her title last year last year to Gina Ferguson who now goes by Crawford after her marriage. Crawford held strong in the late stages of the run against a charging Kim Loeffler to finish in second place today.

2010 Ironman New Zealand Results:

     Men          Women  
1 - Cameron Brown 8:21:52    1 - Joanna Lawn 9:14:35*
2 - Terenzo Bozzone 8:30:00    2 - Gina Crawford 9:28:26
3 - Kieran Doe 8:34:16    3 - Kim Loeffler 9:30:57
4 - Keegan Williams 8:40:11    4 - Sarah Pollett 9:45:44
5 - James Bowstead 9:02:46    5 - Nicole Ward 9:51:05
* = New Course Record         

Ironman New Zealand was established in 1985 and is the oldest official Ironman qualifier race for the Ironman World Championship in Hawaii.

You can see 2010 Ironman New Zealand race coverage, pictures and results here: ironman.com/coverage/?race=newzealand&year=2010

Additional Race Coverage:
- Brown and Lawn break records in Taupo [via Slowtwitch]
Related Posts:
 • Ironman Malaysia, Granger Three-peats, Vanhoenacker Wins