TRIJUICE Content Partners

Snowsill and Gomez Win Mooloolaba ITU Titles

Home town favorite Emma Snowsill and Javier Gomez win the BG Triathlon World Cup season opener in Mooloolaba, Australia.

Before the start all eyes were on Vanessa Fernandes who with a victory could make history with a record-breaking 20th world cup but it wasn't meant to be as Snowsill over powered Fernandes on the third lap of the run to for her second straight win in Mooloolaba.

It wasn't easy for Jomez, he had a slow swim and then suffered a minor crash on the bike course but raced back into contention to take the win over last year winner Brad Kahlefeldt.
2008 Mooloolaba BG Triathlon World Cup Results:

     Women          Men  
1 - Emma Snowsill (AUS) 2:00:44    1 - Javier Gomez (ESP) 1:49:50
2 - Vanessa Fernandes (POR) 2:01:22    2 - Brad Kahlefeldt (AUS) 1:50:14
3 - Lisa Norden (SWE) 2:02:07    3 - Tim Don (GBR) 1:50:24
4 - Laura Bennett (USA) 2:02:37    4 - Bevan Docherty (NZL) 1:50:27
5 - Andrea Whitcombe (GBR) 2:02:45    5 - Greg Bennett (AUS) 1:50:29

History was still made in Mooloolaba as Lisa Norden of Sweden becomes the first Swede to ever take the podium at a world cup event in ITU history. She finished in 3rd place today. She was last year’s under23 world champion.

The top American in Mooloolaba on the men's side was Mark Fretta (1:51:31) who finished in 17th place.

For additional coverage see the International Triathlon Union website.
Related Posts:
Fernandes and Gemmell Victorious in Greece
2008 BG Triathlon World Cup Series Calendar
Fernandes and Unger Crowned World Champs
Salford BG Triathlon World Cup Results