TRIJUICE Content Partners

Mirinda Carfrae Wins Title at Ironman 70.3 Geelong

Some 1,200 triathletes gathered down under for the first running of the Ironman 70.3 Geelong triathlon. This race replaces the Ironman 70.3 Australia that previously was held in Port Macquarie, New South Wales.

Mirinda Carfrae, the reigning Ironman 70.3 World Champion kicked off her 2008 season with nice win Geelong with a time of 4:24:27. It was a solid day for Carfrae who took the lead after the swim and held off the likes of Kate Major and Rebekah Keat.

The title on the men's side wasn't solidified until late into the bike when Leon Griffin was able to build up a 2 minute gap on the nearest competitors and hold the lead on the run to win the title. It was a good day for Griffin who had to late season World Championships - DNF's at the end of 2007.
2008 Ironman 70.3 Geelong Results:

     Women          Men  
1 - Mirinda Carfrae 4:24:27    1 - Leon Griffin 3:56:49
2 - Rebekah Keat 4:27:14    2 - Mitchell Anderson 3:58:13
3 - Kate Major 4:29:21    3 - David Dellow 4:01:01
4 - Amelia Pearson 4:35:10    4 - Joe Gambles 4:02:11
5 - Tara Norton 4:38:59    5 - Boyd Conrick 4:02:45

It was an unfortunate day for Chris Legh in Geelong. He started his day off with a flat tire in transition and then got another flat out on the bike course. Legh overcame his obstacles and finished the race but well off the pace of the leaders.

Additional race coverage on the race in Geelong can be found on the Ironman.com website, follow this link to view it.
Related Posts:
Tissink and Ficker Win Inaugural Ironman 70.3 South Africa
Austin To Get an Ironman 70.3 Series Race
2008 Ironman 70.3 Race Calendar
Kansas Will Also Host a New Ironman 70.3 Race
Potts and Carfrae Crowned Ironman 70.3 World Champs